top of page

Why I Grow My Own Food


I'm often asked if it's really worth it to work so hard at growing my own food. My immediate response is "Of course it is. Why else would I do it?" But why exactly do I think it's a worthwhile endeavor? After all, I start seeds in February and March for crops that I won't even taste in some cases for months. We're talking about literally spending months tending tomatoes and peppers when it seems much easier to buy them at the grocery store or at the farmer's market.

Or how about the eggs? It takes six months of feeding and watering chickens daily before they lay their first egg. Does it make more sense to buy eggs?

I don't mean to insult anyone but it seems that the people asking these questions generally don't know much about modern agribusiness. Some may be familiar with the importance of buying organic or at least non-GMO food but they generally haven't taken the time to think about soil depletion, nutrient depletion, water pollution, or animal welfare. They haven't examined the risks associated with monoculture,the fragilities in our just-in-time delivery systems, or the effects of climate change on food production.

But I have, and I know that the only way to correct these problems is to correct them myself instead of expecting someone else to correct them for me. If I want to address soil depletion, I need to compost more and never till. If I want to address nutrient depletion, I need to add Azomite rock dust to my compost. If I want to address water pollution, I need to keep my soil covered at all times and not use quick-release fertilizers like Miracle Grow. If I want to address animal welfare issues, I need to raise my birds in a humane way. If I want to address monoculture risks, I need to grow a variety of crops so one early frost or one pathogen doesn't wipe out my entire little farm. And if I want to address the fragilities in our just-in-time delivery systems, then I need to grow and preserve my food so I can be my own grocery store.

On top of all those reasons why I put so much effort into growing my own food, there's perhaps the most important reason of all. It brings me pleasure! I feel joy when a seedling pokes its little head out of the soil. I excitedly text my friends that plant babies are being born. My chickens run to me whenever I walk into the backyard and hang out with me in the greenhouse. They even know their names and will fall asleep in my lap if I sing to them. I take great pride in the food I put on my table as well as the food I put on the tables of other families. It's beyond delicious because it's also packed full of nutrients and I know this to be true because I did it myself.

While I do make some money selling eggs and vegetables, I would gladly take a hit to the wallet if the people buying my food would start growing their own. I say this because I love them and I honestly do worry about the ability of modern agribusiness to continue providing for so many people. Christian Westbrook (The Ice Age Farmer) has done a fantastic job detailing crop losses on his website www.iceagefarmer.com/map. His page contains some mixed content so I was unable to post the link but if you're willing to put in the work to grow your own food, I'm sure that you won't mind typing in a site address!

Addressing your family's food security isn't just a necessity. It's also a joy so jump in there and start growing something! You'll be glad you did.


bottom of page